Election Info

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Town of Dillon has cancelled its

April 3, 2018 Municipal Election

The Town received as many candidates as there were seats available for the April 3, 2018 election.  Therefore per Title 31, Article 10, known as the Colorado Municipal Election Code of 1965 and Section 2-1-20(a), of the Dillon Municipal Code authorizes the Designated Election Official (DEO) “that in such case that no more candidates than offices to be filled at such election, including candidates filing affidavits of intent is met, the Town Council shall hold a meeting and by resolution may instruct the DEO to cancel the election and declare the candidates elected.”  

The following candidates will be sworn in to their respective positions on April 17, 2018 at the regular Town Council Meeting.

Mayor Carolyn Skowyra 4-year term expiring April 2022
Council Member Jen Barchers 4-year term expiring April 2022
Council Member Renee Imamura 4-year term expiring April 2022
Council Member Karen Kaminski 4-year term expiring April 2022
Council Member Kyle Hendricks 2-year term expiring April 2020
Council Member Mark Nickel 2-year term expiring April 2020

The following is for informational purposes only: 

April 3, 2018 is Election Day

The Town of Dillon will host its regular municipal mail-ballot election on Tuesday, April 3, 2018. 

One (1) Mayor and five (5) Council Member seats are available in the 2018 April election.  Candidate petition packets are available in the Town Clerk's office Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.  Candidates must obtain twenty-five (25) Dillon registered voter signatures no later than Monday, January 22, 2018, 5:00 p.m.

What is the deadline to vote in this election?

In order to vote in the April 3, 2018 election, voters must establish residency no later than 22 days prior to the election. Voters may register to vote or update records online at GoVoteColorado.com.  Voters may also obtain a voter registration form at GoVoteColorado.com, from the Town Clerk, or the Summit County Clerk and Recorder. A voter may only be registered in one County. Multiple registrations will be deleted by the Colorado Secretary of State.

Who will receive ballots automatically?

“Active” registered voters (those who have voted in the last general election) will automatically receive a ballot by mail.  Voters may want to check their voter status online at GoVoteColorado.com or with the Summit County elections office (970-453-3470).

Who might NOT receive a ballot automatically?

Not all voters who voted in one of the past two elections will receive ballots by mail automatically – this may vary by individual. To confirm your status and determine if you need to request a ballot, voters should call the Summit County Clerk and Recorder at 970-453-3470. Registered voters who are not “active” must request a mail-in ballot in writing to the Dillon Town Clerk.

As a registered voter, what do I have to do?

If your registration is current, your ballot packet will automatically be mailed to you. Inside the packet you will find the ballot, a secrecy envelope and a return envelope. Once you vote the ballot, place it in the secrecy envelope and seal it in the pre-addressed return envelope. Be sure to sign the return envelope on the appropriate line. After verifying that the return envelope has your name and current address, simply return the ballot either by mail or place it in the 24 hour drop box outside Dillon Town Hall.

When are the ballots mailed to the voters?

Ballots will be mailed between March 12 and March 19, 2018. (22 and 15 days before the election)

Absentee Ballot Information - I will be out of town when ballots are mailed, how do I get a ballot?

You may request an absentee ballot from the Town Clerk either in person, by mail, or by fax. You may access the request form by clicking on this link.  An application for an absentee ballot may be submitted as early as 90 days prior to an election, but no later than the close of business on the Friday before the election . Applications for absentee ballots can be obtained at the Dillon Town Clerk’s office, 275 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon.

When do ballots have to be returned?

Ballots must be returned to the Town of Dillon no later than 7:00 p.m. on April 3, 2018.

How much will it cost?

Mailed ballots must have sufficient postage. Postage is estimated at 49 cents for this year’s ballot, so long as other documentation is not included in the envelope.

Voting qualifications

Only U.S. citizens who are 18 years old and have resided inside the town limits for 22 days preceding the election (by March 11, 2018) can register and participate in the election. Registered electors of Summit County who have moved into the town and resided here for the 22 days preceding the election must change their legal address of residency by filling out a Change of Residency form at any of the town halls or with the Summit County Clerk. Any qualified citizen can register up to the day of the election at the County Clerk's office in Breckenridge, driver license offices, municipal clerk offices, various human services agencies or by mailing in voter registration applications.

Registration status

If you failed to vote in past elections or have moved, please check with the Summit County Clerk’s Office at 970-453-3470 to update your registration address and verify that you are still registered.  Their office is located at 208 East Lincoln Avenue, Breckenridge.


For further questions, please contact the Town Clerk at 970-262-3406, jtyson@townofdillon.com or stop in to Town Hall, 275 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon.